Crime Prevention

Crime Prevention

MPD issues a Crime Alert when we notice a crime pattern. The crime pattern may be specific to a geographic area, a time period, or a specific method of crime. Sometimes, the MPD issues "Police Advisory" flyers to the public regarding less serious, yet important crime prevention information. 

The Minneapolis Police Department has 17 Crime Prevention Specialists who work closely with business owners, neighborhood organizations and residents with the mission of presenting safety and neighborhood livability information to the public. The CPS team publishes and distributes crime alerts and it recruits, trains and helps folks maintain their block clubs. Crime Prevention Specialists also help resolve complaints regarding problem properties and provide guidance for non-english speaking residents in Minneapolis. This is a highly effective group that has helped make Minneapolis the nation’s top “National Night Out” city in terms of attendance.

Contact Crime Prevention Specialists
   

1ST PRECINCT

(612) 673-5701

Sector 1
Downtown East/West, Loring Park,
North Loop, Elliot Park 
CPS Reneé Allen  renee.allen@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-5163

Sector 2
Cedar Riverside/West Bank

CPS Ahmed Hassan
ahmed.hassan@minneapolismn.gov

CPS Carla Nielson - Cedar Riverside/West Bank Safety Center
1601 4th St. S.
carla.nielson@minneapolismn.gov

 

(612) 673-5164

 

(612) 333-9242

2ND PRECINCT

(612) 673-5702

Sector 1
Beltrami, Como, Marcy Holmes, Mid-City Ind., Nicollet Is. E. Bank, Prospect Park & East River Rd., St. Anthony East, St. Anthony
West, U of M

Nick Juarez  nicholas.juarez@minneapolismn.gov

 (612) 673-2797

Sector 2
Audubon Park, Bottineau, Columbia Park, Holland, Logan Park, Marshall Terrace, Mid-City Ind., Northeast Park, Sheridan, Waite Park, Windom Park 
Susan Webb  susan.webb@minneapolismn.gov

 

 (612) 673-2874

3RD PRECINCT

(612) 673-5703

Sector 1
East Phillips, Midtown Phillips, Phillips West, Ventura Village

CPS Don Greeley  donald.greeley@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-3482

Midtown Safety Center
2949 Chicago Ave. S.

CPS John Baumann
john.baumann@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 825-6138

Sector 2
Bancroft, Bryant, Central, Corcoran, Powderhorn Park, Standish (north of 42nd St. E.)

CPS Karen Notsch  karen.notsch@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-2856

Sector 3
Diamond Lake, Ericsson, Field, Hale, Keewaydin, Minnehaha, Morris Park, Northrop, Page, Regina, Standish (south of 42nd St. E.), Wenonah

CPS Sue Roethele  sue.roethele@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-2839

Sector 4
Cooper, Hiawatha, Howe, Longfellow, Seward

CPS Shun Tillman  shun.tillman@minneapolismn.gov

 

(612) 673-2846

4TH PRECINCT

(612) 673-5704

Sector 1
Harrison, Bryn-Mawr, Near North, Heritage Park,
Willard-Hay

CPS Rowena Holmes 

rowena.holmes@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-2833

Sector 2
Cleveland, Folwell, Hawthorne, Jordan, McKinley 

CPS Rick Maas richard.maas@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-3725

Sector 3
Camden Industry, Lind-Bohanan, Humboldt Ind., Shingle Creek, Victory, Webber-Camden

CPS Tim Hammett 
timothy.hammett@minneapolismn.gov

 

(612) 673-2866

5TH PRECINCT

(612) 673-5705

Sector 1
Cedar-Isles-Dean, East Isles, Kenwood, Lowry Hill East, Lowry Hill, Stevens Square-Loring Heights, Whittier

CPS Chelsea Adams
chelsea.adams@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-2819

Sector 2
CARAG, ECCO, West Calhoun

CPS Chelsea Adams
chelsea.adams@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-2819

Sector 2
East Harriet, Kingfield, Linden Hills, Lyndale

CPS Jennifer Waisanen
jennifer.waisanen@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-5407

Sector 3
Armatage, Fulton, Kenny, Lynnhurst, Tangletown, Windom

CPS Jennifer Waisanen
jennifer.waisanen@minneapolismn.gov

 

(612) 673-5407

CULTURAL OUTREACH

Spanish
CPS John Reed
john.reed@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-5579

Somali
Ahmed Hassan
ahmed.hassan@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 290-3960

GENERAL CRIME PREVENTION INQUIRIES

Crime Prevention Analyst Luther Krueger 
Strategic Information/Crime Analysis Division 
luther.krueger@minneapolismn.gov

(612) 673-5371

This program is partially funded by Community Development Block Grants (CDBG).